How to Remember Window locations based on Monitor Connection in Windows 11

This post shows students and new users steps to turn On or Off “Remember window locations based on monitor connection in Windows 11.

When you undock your computer, the windows on your external monitor are minimized. When you re-dock your computer to your monitor, Windows puts everything back exactly where you had it before.

This is possible because by default, Windows will remember window locations based on monitor connection. This feature is turned on by default and it’s there to help users who frequently connect and disconnect external monitors from their computer.

The steps below will show you how to enable or disable a feature in Windows that remembers window locations based on monitor connection in Windows 11.

How to remember window locations based on monitor connection in Windows 11

As described above, Windows will remember window locations based on monitor connection by default. It helps users who frequently connect and disconnect their display from Windows.

Below is how to enable or disable it.

Windows 11 has a centralized location for majority of its settings. From system configurations to creating new users and updating Windows, all can be done from its System Settings pane.

To get to System Settings, you can use the Windows key + i shortcut or click on Start ==> Settings as shown in the image below:

windows 11 start menu settings updated

Alternatively, you can use the search box on the taskbar and search for Settings. Then select to open it.

Windows Settings pane should look similar to the image below. In Windows Settings, click the Display tile on the right pane as highlighted in the image below.

windows 11 display tile

On the System > Display settings pane, select Multiple display tile to expand.

Under the expanded Multiple displays tile, check or uncheck the box next to “Remember windows locations based on monitor connection” to enable or disable.

windows 11 remember window locations based on monitor

That should do it! You can now close Windows settings app.

Conclusion:

This post showed you how to turn on or of remember window locations based on monitor connection in Windows 11. If you find any error above or have something to share, please use the comment form below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.