Steps for enabling or disabling “Registration Lock” in the Signal app

|

|

The article outlines how to manage the “Registration Lock” feature in the Signal app on mobile devices. This feature prevents unauthorized parties from creating a new Signal account with a user’s phone number, offering an added layer of security, particularly in instances of phone loss or theft. The piece provides detailed instructions for enabling or…

This article explains enabling or disabling “Registration Lock” in the Signal app on mobile devices.

Signal is a cross-platform popular messaging app. It allows users to send and receive encrypted messages, make voice and video calls, and share files from their devices, including computers.

When you install and set up the Signal Desktop app, you can choose to have it open automatically when you log in to your computer. The app also allows you to turn on or off call relay through Signals’ servers to avoid revealing your IP addressturn disappearing messages on or offturn incoming calls on or off, and more.

The Signal mobile version allows users to turn Read receipts on or offturn typing indicators on or offturn screen lock on or offturn Payment lock on or offturn notifications on or offturn media auto-download on or off, turn Generate link previews on or off, and more, which aren’t available on the desktop version.

When you use the mobile version, you can turn on a “Registration Lock” feature in the Signal app to ensure your PIN is required to register your phone number again.

You might want to turn on the “Registration Lock” in the Signal app to ensure that your phone number cannot be used to create a new Signal account without your permission. This feature is particularly useful if you lose your phone or get stolen.

By enabling “Registration Lock,” you can prevent someone else from using your phone number to register for a new Signal account and access your conversations. On the other hand, if you don’t need this level of protection, you can choose to turn it off.

Turn “Registration Lock” on or off in Signal

As mentioned above, users can enable or disable the “Registration Lock” feature in Signal to ensure that their phone number cannot be used to create a new Signal account without their permission.

Here’s how to do it.

First, screen your apps and open the Signal app on your mobile device.

Open Signal app on mobile device

When the app opens, click your profile image to display the Settings menu or select the Settings and more (three vertical dots) button on the top right of your screen, then select Settings on the context menu.

Signal app settings menu

Next, click the “Account” tile on the Settings menu to open it.

Signal enable registration lock

On the Settings -> Account settings page, select the “Registration Lock” tile. Then, toggle the switch button to the On position to enable it.

To disable it, toggle the switch button to the Off position to disable it.

That should do it!

Conclusion:

This post showed you how to turn “Registration Lock” on or off in the Signal app. Please use the comments form below if you find errors or have something to add.

Like this:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.